Indmedica Home | About Indmedica | Medical Jobs | Advertise On Indmedica
Search Indmedica Web
Indmedica - India's premier medical portal

Indian Journal of Community Medicine

Proceedings of the IAPSM (North Zone Chapter) General Council Meeting Held at DMC, Ludhiana on 16.10.2004

Author(s): Dr. Bhupinder Singh

Vol. 30, No. 1 (2005-03 - 2005-03)

The eighth general council meeting of the North Zone Chapter was chaired by Prof. G.P.I. Singh, President, IAPSM Zonal Chapter-North. The agenda was read out for approval of the council. The following resolutions were passed:

  1. The minutes of 7th general council meeting held at PGIMER, Chandigarh on February 2004 was confirmed and approved.
  2. The report of the activities of the North Zone chapter was presented by the General Secretary. The life membership of IAPSM from North Zone was 150. The budget was presented by the treasurer which was approved by the General council.
  3. Prof. Rajesh Kumar, Secretary General, IAPSM assured to give the zonal share to the headquarter of the chapter, Prof. G.P.I. Singh Organizing Secretary of the 8th Conference of Zonal chapter also assured to give financial help.
  4. Dr. Bhupinder Sngh, HOD Community Medicine, Government Medical College, Jammu proposed to hold the next conference at Jammu which was unanimously accepted by the general body.
  5. In view of the contributions made by Prof. Y.L. Vasudeva in the field of Community Medicine, it was proposed to confer "Y.L. Vasudeva Oration Award" to the eminent scientists who have contributed significantly to the cause of IAPSM Chapter. It was unanimously resolved that the awardee shall be nominated by a three member committee comprising of eminent members. Prof. G.P.I. Singh proposed the name of Dr. Bhupinder Singh for the award for the year 2004-05 which was unanimously approved by the General Council. The award shall be conferred in the 9th Zonal Conference.
  6. A crore group comprising of Prof. Rajesh Kumar, Secretary General IAPSM; Prof. Shavinder Singh CMC Ludhiana; Prof. Bhavnesh Gupta, GMC Patiala; Prof. R.K. Sachar, DMC Ludhiana; Prof. Bhupinder Singh, General Secretary, North Zone chapter met to deliberate upon the subject "Role of Public Health Specialists in Primary Health Care Delivery System". The recommendations of the core group were read to the house and resolution was passed by the General Body. The resolution read as follows:
    1. IAPSM (North Zone Chapter) notes with pride that the North Indian State of Punjab, Haryana, HimachaL Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir and Union Territory of Chandigarh have made significant progress in the health field over the last few years. However, the states are facing many public health challenges like control of communicable and non-communicable diseases, reproductive health problems and environmental problems etc. The public health situation has become more complex but the preparedness of the states is not adequate as there is a considerable mismatch between the qualification and job assignment in the state health services. By removing this mismatch, the states can make great progress in health field. State health services must constitute a Public Health Specialist Cadre (MD Community Medicine/MPH/DPH). Public Health Specialist with adequate staff and facilities must be posted in every district with adequate scope of promotions to higher posts so that the public health planning, implementation, management, monitoring and evaluation are streamlined to maximize the health benefits to the public.
    2. The General Secretary of the North Zone Chapter is empowered to constitute a three-member committee in each State/UT of North to draft a memorandum to submit it to the appropriate health authority (Health Minister/Health Secretary) in the state govt.
    3. IAPSM North Zone Chapter requests the headquarters of IAPSM to take up this issue with appropriate health authorities at the center.
  7. The Executive committee for the year 2004-05. (1.11.2004 - 31.10.2005) was elected unanimously. Following are the office bearers: President : Dr. R.K. Sachar, DMC, Ludhiana Vice -President : Dr. Amarjeet Singh, GMC, Patiala General Secretary : Dr. Bhupinder Singh, GMC, Jammu Executive Members :
    1. Dr. Sarita Sharma : DMC, Ludhiana
    2. Dr. Mohan Lal : H&FW Training Centre, Amritsar
    3. Dr. H.S. Chohan : PSACS, Chandigarh
    4. Dr. Neelam Kumar : Pt. BDS PGIMER, Rohtak
    5. Dr. Neeraj Agarwal : GMC, Chandigarh
    6. Dr. Paramita : CMC, Ludhiana
    7. Treasurer : Dr. Gurdeep Singh GMC, Jammu.
  8. Finally the Secretary of Zonal chapter expressed the sentiments of all the members and proposed a vote of thanks to Prof. G.P.I. Singh, President and Organizing Secretary and Prof. R.K. Sachar, Joint Organizing Secretary and their team for hosting a successful trend setting and memorable conference at DMC Ludhiana.

Dr. Bhupinder Singh
Secretary, IAPSM (NZ)

Access free medical resources from Wiley-Blackwell now!

About Indmedica - Conditions of Usage - Advertise On Indmedica - Contact Us

Copyright © 2005 Indmedica