Indmedica Home | About Indmedica | Medical Jobs | Advertise On Indmedica
Search Indmedica Web
Indmedica - India's premier medical portal

Indian Journal of Community Medicine

Proceedings of 23rd Annual Conference of I.A.P.S.M. (Orissa State Branch)-2005

Author(s): Editor

Vol. 30, No. 2 (2005-04 - 2005-06)

The 23rd Annual Conference of I.A.P.S.M. (Orissa State Branch) - 2005 was organized by the Department of Community Medicine, M.K.C.G. Medical College, Berhampur on 8th and 9th January, 2005 at Berhampur, the Silk City. About 200 delegates and associate delegates consisting of faculty members and Postgraduate students of Community Medicine and doctors from general health services participated. A pre inaugural C.M.E. on "Rabies Prevention" was organized in which Dr. Bankim Charan Patnaik was the Guest Speaker. Prof. Sandip K. Ray, Secretary General, IPHA chaired the session.

Prof. J.K. Baral, Vice Chancellor of the Berhampur University has inaugurated the Conference in the Auditorium of Medical College on 8th January, 2005 as Chief Guest. Dr. R. C.C. Patnaik, M.L.A. & Life Member of the State Chapter and Prof. S.C. Mohapatra, Director of Medical Education & Training, Orissa were the Guests of Honour on the occasion. Prof. B.C. Das, Director of State Institute of Health & Family Welfare, Orissa, Prof. Suroraj Patnaik, Superintendent of the Hospital were other Guests on the inaugural function. Prof. O.P. Panigrahy, President of the State Chapter presided over the inaugural function. Prof. Trilochan Sahu, General Secretary, IAPSM (Orissa State Branch) highlighted the different activities of the Association in his Annual Report. He pointed out that this year the Departments of Community Medicine in three Medical Colleges of the State have been involved in different projects and programmes like Injection Safety Programme Evaluation, I.P.P.I. Programme Evaluation, I.D.D. Survey, M.D.S.S. Training, R.T.I./S.T.I. Training, Training of Medical Officers in RCH, UIP Evaluation, Training of medical officers in RNTCP, Training of different Health providers in IMNCI and so on. Some of our Faculty Members have participated in various Seminars, Work Shops held at National level.

Dr. J.K. Patnaik, Organising Secretary of the Conference extended hearty vote of thanks to all concerned in his address. During the inaugural session a Souvenir, Journal of Community Medicine (Official Publication of I.A.P.S.M. Orissa Chapter) and Bulletin (Down the Memory Lane) of the Department of Community Medicine were released. Three doctors with Community Medicine postgraduate specialization and working in the general health services of Orissa were honoured for their outstanding activities. Dr. B.C. Das was honoured with Best Public Health Personality of the year.

For the first time Dr. R.G. Panigrahy Memorial Oration was held soon after inaugural session in which Prof. Haribandhu Mohapatra had given his oration. Dr. T.P. Patra, Retd. S.P.C., DANLEP was on the chair.

A Seminar on "RNTCP-DOTS STRATEGY" was held. The speakers were Dr. Aime De Muynck, Chief Technical Advisor, Dr. D.N. Nayak, Programme Officer and Dr. Gayadhar Mallick, Programme Officer from DANTB, Orissa Office. In the afternoon a Seminar on "Malnutrition in children - A tribal area perspetive" sponsored by UNICEF was organized and the participants were Prof. S.K. Ray, Dr. Mamata Giri and Dr. R.M. Tripathy. This session was chaired by Prof. O.P. Panigrahy and Dr. S.K. Sahu. This was followed by the Business Session of the Chapter in which the following Office Bearers have been elected for coming years.

  1. President: Prof. Trilochan Sahu
  2. Vice-President: Dr. Himansu Prasad Acharya
  3. General Secretary: Dr. S.K. Sahu
  4. Treasurer: Dr. Kaushik Mishra
  5. Executive Council Members: Dr. J.K. Patnaik, Dr. R.N. Rout, Dr. Nibedita Karmee, Dr. S.N. Das, Dr. Basant K. Barik

On 9th January, 2005 Scientific Session for paper presentation and poster presentation was held from 9 a.m. to 12 Noon in which 24 papers were presented by the faculty, PGs and other doctors. A seminar on "Leprosy Elimination" sponsored by ILEP was held from 10.00 a.m. to 2.00 p.m. and the speakers were Dr. S.N. Pati, Dr. P.K.B. Patnaik, Dr. D. Parichha, Dr. Umakanta Tripathy and Dr. M. Behera. Chairpersons in the seminar were Dr. Sibaram Patnaik and Dr. R.C. Mohapatra. The Valedictory session of the Conference was held at 2.00 p.m. with hearty congratulations to the Department for successfully organizing the Conference.

Dr. Trilochan Sahu,
Professor & Head,
Department of Community Medicine
M.K.C.G. Medical College, Berhampur, Orissa
President, I.A.P.S.M. (Orissa State Branch)

Access free medical resources from Wiley-Blackwell now!

About Indmedica - Conditions of Usage - Advertise On Indmedica - Contact Us

Copyright © 2005 Indmedica