Indmedica Home | About Indmedica | Medical Jobs | Advertise On Indmedica
Search Indmedica Web
Indmedica - India's premier medical portal

Indian Journal of Community Medicine

Proceedings of the General Council Meeting Held at Govt. Medical College, Jammu on 10.2.2001

Author(s): Editors

Vol. 26, No. 2 (2001-04 - 2001-06)

Secretary General, IAPSM

28th National Conference of Indian Association of Preventive and Social Medicine was held at Govt. Medical College, Jammu (J&K) from 9-11 February, 2001. It was well attended conference. Over 250 delegates from all over India participated in this conference and 120 scientific papers on different subjects were presented. Special plenary sessions on "Class Room to Community" - Teaching - Training and Research of Community Medicine, "Revitalization of Primary Health Care", "Problem and Control of diabetes", "Leprosy-control and rehabilitation" were organized as part of continuing medical education. The Hon'ble Health Minister of J&K inaugurated this conference.

The General Body meeting was held on 10.2.2001 under the Chairmanship of Prof. K. Raghava Prasad, President of IAPSM. The following resolutions were passed.

1. Indian Association of Preventive and Social Medicine paid homage to earthquake victims of Gujarat. Two minutes silence was observed. It was also resolved that the IAPSM is ready to send volunteers (expert groups) to cope with any situation of medical relief and outbreaks. Secretary General of IAPSM was authorized to communicate to Gujarat Govt. through Local Chapter (Gujarat Chapter of IAPSM). Grief stricken members observed condolence meeting to mourn the death of respected life and founder members of IAPSM: Dr. Y.L. Vasudeva, Dr. Sushila Nayar and Dr. B.K. Mahajan.

2. Minutes of General Body meeting held at Hyderabad in February, 2000 were approved by the General Body.

3. Budget of Rs. 1,62,500/- which was approved for the year 2000-2001 by the Governing Council was presented to General Council and it was approved by the General Council.

4. The audited statement of accounts (receipts and expenditure) for the year 1999-2000 was presented by Dr. M.S. Punia, the Treasurer of IAPSM, which was approved by the General Body.

5. The Secretary General of IAPSM, Prof. Sunder Lal presented the progress report of activities of IAPSM. He informed the General Body that membership of IAPSM has crossed the mark of 1300 and activities of State Chapters and Zonal Chapters were presented in brief. Concern was voiced for states which have not yet started/activized the state chapters and low level of membership in some states was also pointed out for concerted efforts. Secretary General also shared the happy moments of indexing of IJCM in "IndMED: w.e.f. 1985 onwards - a bibliographic Database of Indian Biomedical Research". It is recognized as the 17th International Medlars Centre by National Library of Medicine (of USA) and is known as Indian Medlars Centre. This database is now available at Internet with the following URL:

6. It was resolved that the awards for young doctors would be announced well in advance through circulars sent by Organizing Secretary of the Conference.

Awards and Orations:

Dhanwantri Oration Award - There were four nominations. Prof. A.S. Sekhon, Head, Deptt. of Community Medicine, Govt. Medical College, Patiala was selected by the Governing Council for Dhanwantri Oration Award for the year 2001. This was notified and approved by the General Council.

Harcharan Singh Oration Award - None was selected for this award.

Dr. Mahajan's Award - For best paper published in IJCM in the year 2000, was awarded to Dr. Kiran Anand of Sewagram (Wardha).

Fellowships - Following were selected for the award of fellowship of IAPSM by the Governing Council which were notified and approved by the General Council:

  1. Prof. V. Mohan, Dayanand Medical College, Ludhiana.
  2. Prof. Rajesh Kumar, P.G.I.M.E.R., Chandigarh.
  3. Prof. H.M. Swami, G.M.C., Chandigarh.
  4. Prof. A.I. Benjamin, C.M.C., Chandigarh.

7. Election:

a) President Prof. A. Rauf, Govt. Medical College, Srinagar was unanimously elected as President of IAPSM for the year 2001-2002.
b) Vice-President Dr. Bhupinder Singh of Govt. Medical College, Jammu was unanimously elected as Vice-President of IAPSM for the year 2001-2002.
c) Secretary-General Prof. Sunder Lal of Pt. BDS P.G.I.M.S. Rohtak was unanimously elected as Secretary General of IAPSM for next three years 2001-2004.
d) Chief-Editor, IJCM Prof. Sunder Lal of Pt. BDS P.G.I.M.S., Rohtak was unanimously elected as Chief Editor of IJCM for next three years 2001-2004.
e) Executive members Following were elected as executive members of the Governing Council for the year 2001-2002.
1. Prof. V. Mohan (Ludhiana)
2. Dr. A.M. Mehendale (Wardha)
3. Dr. Baldev Raj Sharma (Jammu)
4. Lt. Col. I.B. Sareen (Delhi)
5. Dr. Virinder Mathur (Ajmer)
6. Dr. R.B. Jain (Rohtak)
7. Dr. P.L. Gattani (Maharashtra)
8. Dr. Anmol Gupta (Simla)
9. Dr. S.K. Rasania (Delhi)
10. Dr. Usha Rani (Vijaywada)
11. Dr. Durga Malab Satpathy (Orissa)
12. Dr. Puneet Mishra (Delhi)

8. Members were keen to know the outcome of proposed research study by IAPSM on Maternal Mortality in the country. Secretary General assured the members to ascertain the progress thereof from the past President of IAPSM.

9. Prof. B.S. Garg agreed to host the 29th Annual Conference of IAPSM at Sewagram (Wardha).

10. Finally Prof. K. Raghava Prasad, President of IAPSM expressed the sentiments of all the members and proposed vote of thanks to Dr. Bhupinder Singh, the Organizing Secretary of 28th National Conference and his Deptt. team, the Principal/Dean, Medical Superintendent, Staff, Students and State Health authorities of J&K for successfully organizing the conference and hospitality extended to the participants and delegates. The resolution was adopted by the General Council and standing ovation was accorded to all the members of the Organizing Committee.

(Secretary General, IAPSM)

Access free medical resources from Wiley-Blackwell now!

About Indmedica - Conditions of Usage - Advertise On Indmedica - Contact Us

Copyright © 2005 Indmedica