Indmedica Home | About Indmedica | Medical Jobs | Advertise On Indmedica
Search Indmedica Web
Indmedica - India's premier medical portal

Indian Journal of Community Medicine

Procedings of the 19th Annual Conference of IAPSM, Orissa State Branch

Author(s): Editors

Vol. 26, No. 3 (2001-07 - 2001-09)

The department of Social & Preventive Medicine of S.C.B. Medical College, Cuttack organised 19th Annual Conference of IAPSM, Orissa State Branch on 12th and 13th May 2001 at Konark, the abode of Sun Temple.

A total of 65 delegates and 15 associate delegates from all the three Medical Colleges of the State of Orissa as well as doctors of Orissa with PSM degree had participated in the conference.

The conference started in the conference hall of Yatrinivas at 12.30 p.m. on 12th May 2001 with Vedic recitations. Dr. D.D. Bhuyan, Director of Family Welfare, Orissa inaugurated the conference and Prof. Ratnakar Das, Director of Medical Education and Training, Orissa was the Guest of Honour on the occasion. Prof. L.K. Sahu, Principal of S.C.B. Medical College, Cuttack released the Souvenir at the inaugural function and the formal inauguration came to an end with concluding remarks by Prof. S.C. Jena, Head of the Deptt. of S.P.M., S.C.B. Medical College, Cuttack.

Prof. H.B. Mohapatra, Retd. Prof. of S.P.M., Prof. B.C. Das, Prof. Priatama Singh, Dr. O.P. Panigrahi, Dr. B. Mohapatra discussed on the topic "Adolescent Health" from different aspects as panel experts in a panel discussion which was held from 3 p.m. to 5.30 p.m. on 12th May 2001.

A scientific session of 3 hours duration was held on 13.05.2001 from 8.30 a.m. to 11.30 a.m. under the chairmanship of Dr. Trilochan Sahu and Dr. O.P. Panigrahi in two separate sessions. A total of 18 scientific papers were presented by the P.G. students and teachers of S.P.M. from three Medical Colleges of the State.

There was a lively discussion by the delegates about recent introduction of "Modified Training of Interns in Community Medicine" in the State with suggestions to improve the system in future. This discussion continued till about 12.30 p.m.

The General Body Meeting was held in the evening of 12.05.2001 and various issues were discussed in detail. The following office bearers were unanimously elected for the next term.

President : Prof. P. Singh (Burla)
Vice-President : Dr. O.P. Panigrahi (Burla)
General Secretary :  Dr. Trilochan Sahu (Berhampur)
Treasurer : Dr. R.C. Giri (Burla)
Executive Members : Dr. R.M. Tripathy (Berhampur)
Dr. Kaushik Misra (Cuttack)
Dr. N.C. Sahani (Berhampur)
Dr. E. Venkat Rao (Berhampur)
Dr. Aswine Ku. Naik (Sambalpur)

Prof. B.C. Das, Prof. and Head of the Deptt. of S.P.M., MKCG Medical College, Berhampur offered to organize next conference at Berhampur.

The conference concluded with the valedictory function at 1.30 p.m. on 13th May 2001. This was followed by Mahaprasad Sevanam and sight seeing at Puri.

Dr. Trilochan Sahu,
General Secretary,
IAPSM - Orissa State Branch

Access free medical resources from Wiley-Blackwell now!

About Indmedica - Conditions of Usage - Advertise On Indmedica - Contact Us

Copyright © 2005 Indmedica