Indmedica Home | About Indmedica | Medical Jobs | Advertise On Indmedica
Search Indmedica Web
Indmedica - India's premier medical portal

Indian Journal of Community Medicine

Proceedings of National Annual Conference of Indian Association of Preventive and Social Medicine Held at MGIMS, Sevagram (Wardha)

Author(s): Prof. Sunder Lal

Vol. 27, No. 2 (2002-04 - 2002-06)

The following resolutions were passed:

1. The minutes of Annual Conference of IAPSM held at Govt. Medical College, Jammu (February, 2001) were published and circulated and again read in the Annual Conference at Sevagram on 16.2.2002. These were approved unanimously.

2. The audited statement of accounts for the year 2001-2002 (receipts and expenditures) were presented to the General Body by Dr. M.S. Punia and the audited report was circulated to the members. The General Body approved it unanimously.

3. The proposed annual budget for the year 2002-2003 was presented to the Governing Council on 15.2.2002 and subsequently to General Body on 16.2.2002. The General Body approved the annual budget of Rs.1,89,500.00 (Rs. 1,40,000/- for publication of IJCM, Rs. 5000/- for website charges, Rs. 5000/- audit fee, Rs. 2500/- Secretarial Assistance, Rs. 12,000/- States share and Rs. 25,000/- as contingencies expenditures).

4. The names of Editorial Board as proposed by Secretary-General were approved by the Governing Council and General Body.

5. The activities report of IAPSM for the year 2001-2002 was presented by the Secretary General, IAPSM. The total life membership of IAPSM crossed over 1400. IAPSM organized Continuing Education Programme for Teachers of Community Medicine (phase-I) and in its efforts first workshop of Training of Trainers (TOT) was organized at PGIMS, Rohtak in July, 2001 and subsequently over 50 Medical Colleges' teachers were oriented in the strategies of "Reproductive and Child Health programme and their incorporation into the curriculum of undergraduates and postgraduates in Community Medicine". During phase-I, Haryana, Delhi, U.P., M.P., Rajasthan, H.P., J&K, Punjab and Union Territory of Chandigarh were covered. It was proposed to cover the rest of the states in phase-II subject to allotment of budget. Over 216 teachers of Community Medicine were oriented.

6. Activities of State Chapters are vital and of pivotal concern for the organization. The IAPSM is proud of active state chapters in the state of West-Bengal, Orissa, North Zone, Gujarat, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh, Delhi and Karnataka. These states organized regular activities and provided a lead to dormant chapters at U.P., Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Eastern Indian States

It was a matter of proud to observe that besides Continuing Education Programme, Orissa, Karnataka, Gujarat Maharashtra and U.P. Chapters brought out journals of their respective state chapters to disseminate scientific information to the state and the country. Similarly, the North Zone Chapter published its newsletter regularly.

7. The IJCM is being published regularly and it is now Indexed Journal and the full text is available on the website. The quality has improved to a great deal and its popularity and demand has gone high as over 100 Institutions and Libraries subscribe to this journal.

8. The IAPSM was represented in National Bodies by the President and Secretary General, particularly the National Population Commission and National Task Force on Child Health invited the IAPSM to express its views. IAPSM made positive contributions.

9. The IAPSM has established linkages with National Institutes like NIHFW, AIIMS (IDD) & IIHM&R, Jaipur for undertaking research persuits and dissemination of evidence based research. Prof. S.D. Gupta was generous to accommodate two faculty members of IAPSM at IIHM at Jaipur for Continuing Education without any fee.

IAPSM voiced its concern against appointment of Professors in Community Medicine without P.G. qualification in the State of Tamil Nadu (Chennai). The General Body authorized the Secretary General to take up the matter with M.C.I. at New Delhi.

10. Epidemiological Research Grant for various Projects:

Two epidemiological studies were approved for the grant:

(i)To determine the socio-cultural factors responsible for unfavourable female sex ratio in Haryana - Dr. Vijay Kumar, PGIMS, Rohtak. Rs. 39,000/-
(ii)An interventional study of nutritional and feeding practices of adolescents in Chandigarh - Dr. Vikas Bhatia, GMC, Chandigarh Rs. 6,000/-
Total Rs. 45,000/-

11. Awards:

  • For the award of Dhanwantry Oration Prof. R.K. Sachar of Dayanand Medical College, Ludhiana was selected.
  • For the award of Harcharan Singh oration, Dr. Bhupinder Singh of Govt. Medical College, Jammu was selected.
  • Sh. Kalu Ram Memorial Award for best paper presentation in the Annual Conference was awarded to Dr. S.Z. Quazi of Medical College, Nagpur (Maharashtra).
  • Dr. Mahajan's Award for best paper published in IJCM (2001) was awarded to Dr. Nilanjan Kumar Mitra of West Bengal.


The following members were selected for the award of fellowships of IAPSM.

  1. Prof. J.V. Singh, Govt. Medical College, Meerut.
  2. Prof. C.S. Pandav, AIIMS, New Delhi.
  3. Prof. Jagjeet Singh, Govt. Medical College, Patiala.
  4. Prof. S.B. Rotti, JIPMER, Pondicherry.
  5. For Causa Honoris Dr. K.N. Tewari - MHO, New Delhi was selected.

12. Election:

  • Prof. B.S. Garg of M.G.I.M.S., Sevagram was elected as President of IAPSM for the year 2002-2003.
  • Prof. Soudarssanane, JIPMER, Pondicherry was elected as Vice-President of IAPSM for the year 2002-2003.

Following were elected as members of Governing Council for the year 2002-2003.

  1. Prof. GPI Singh, DMC, Ludhiana, Punjab.
  2. Dr. Himanshu Prasad Acharya, VSS Medical College, Burla, Sambalpur, Orissa.
  3. Dr. Vikas Bhatia, Govt. Medical College, Chandigarh.
  4. Dr. V.K. Mathur, Civil Lines, Ajmer, Rajasthan.
  5. Dr. Sairu Philip, Asstt. Prof. T.D. Medical College, Alappuzha, Kerala.
  6. Dr. J.V. Dixit, Govt. Medical College, Aurangabad.
  7. Dr. Shiv Kumar Pundkar, ACPM Medical College, Dhule.
  8. Dr. R.C. Goyal, Rural Medical College, Loni, Ahmed Nagar.
  9. Dr. Sanjeev Upadyaya, Lady Hardinge Medical College New Delhi.
  10. Dr. Pradeep Kumar, New Civil Hospital, Surat.
  11. Dr. M. Narayanappa, R.T. Nagar, Banglore.
  12. Salig Ram Mazta, Asstt. Prof., GMC, Tanda, Kangra.
  13. The annual subscription by institutions/libraries and annual membership subscription was raised from Rs. 250/- to Rs. 400/- per annum with immediate effect. (Year 2002, 1.4.2002).
  14. It was resolved that the Organizing Secretary of the National Conference will be elected as President of IAPSM henceforth.

13. Venue of the next Conference:

The proposal received from Prof. A.S. Wantamutte of J.N. Medical College, BELGAUM (Karnataka) has been accepted.

The annual conference organized at Sevagram (Wardha) was a grand success and important milestone. The members gave a standing ovation to Prof. B.S. Garg and his team whose sincere dedications and hard work culminated to a grand success. The IAPSM expressed its sincere gratitudes to the Government of Maharashtra, President & Secretary, Kasturba Health Society, Dean and Faculty Members of MGIMS, Sevagram (Wardha) who were kind enough to host the conference at Sevagram (Wardha).

Access free medical resources from Wiley-Blackwell now!

About Indmedica - Conditions of Usage - Advertise On Indmedica - Contact Us

Copyright © 2005 Indmedica