Indmedica Home | About Indmedica | Medical Jobs | Advertise On Indmedica
Search Indmedica Web
Indmedica - India's premier medical portal

Indian Journal of Community Medicine

Proceedings of 21st Annual Conference of IAPSM, Orissa State Branch, 2003

Author(s): Editors

Vol. 28, No. 1 (2003-01 - 2003-03)

p>The 21st Annual Conference of IAPSM, (Orissa State Branch) was organized by VSS Medical College, Burla on 11.1.03 and was held at the historic city of Sambalpur of western Orissa. A total of 59 delegates and 16 associate delegates participated in the conference. The conference was inaugurated by Prof. M.C. Das, Vice-Chancellor of Sambalpur University. The other dignitaries present in the conference were Prof. B.C. Das, Director, State Institute of Health and F.W. and Director of Medical Education and Training, Orissa, Dr. R.N. Nanda, Ex-Director of Health Services, Orissa, Dr. P.K. Behera, Principal, Dr. S.C. Mohapatra, Superintendent, V.S.S. Medical College and Hospital, Burla. Prof. O.P. Panigrahi, Chairman Organizing Committee conducted the inaugural meeting and Dr. H.B. Acharya, the Organizing Secretary of the Conference extended the vote of thanks.

CME on "Disaster affects Community Health - get prepared" started under the chairmanship of Prof. B. Mohapatra and the participants were Dr. D.M. Satapahy, Dr. Kaushik Kumar Mishra and Dr. Sushanta Mishra. After that CME on "Leprosy Elimination: The final thrust" was held; wherein Dr. T.P. Patra, SPO, DANLEP Orissa and Dr. D.N. Nayak, DANLEP and other senior faculty members participated.

Dr. Smita Panda and Dr. Sushanta Mishra participated in the deliberations on "Rabies". In the scientific session 10 scientific papers were presented. The session was chaired and co-chaired by Dr. S.K. Sahu and Dr. N.C. Sahani respectively. There was good enthusiasm among the PG students during the discussion in the scientific session.

The Business session was held at 5.30 pm and the following members were elected as office bearers for IAPSM, Orissa State Branch for the next term.

Executive Members:

President - Dr. O.P. Panigrahi
Vice-President - Dr. S.K. Sahu Dr. R.N. Rout
Gen. Secretary - Dr. Trilochan Sahu Dr. N.C. Sahani
Treasurer - Dr. Kaushik Kumar Mishra Dr. Manasi Panda
Dr. Smita Panda
Dr. Aswini Kumar Nayak

In the General Body Meeting it was decided that Journal of "Preventive and Social Medicine" - the official organ of IAPSM (Orissa State Branch) will be published twice annually and Dr. R.C. Giri will be the Editor and Dr. S.C. Panda wil l act as Managing Editor. The accounts of 20th Annual Conference of IAPSM (Orissa State Branch) were presented before the General Body and were passed.

During last year Dr. B.C. Dass was promoted as the Director of State Institute of Health and F&W, Orissa and Dr. Priyatama Singh as the member of Orissa Public Service Commission for which the members passed resolution to felicitate them.

Dr. B. Mohapatra, HOD of SPM, SCB Medical College, Cuttack offered to hold the 22nd Annual Conference of IAPSM, Orissa State Branch at SCB Medical College, Cuttack in January, 2004.

The conference came to an end after valedictory session at 7.00 PM.

Dr. Trilochan Sahu
Professor of Community Medicine,
MKCG Medical College,
Berhampur - 760004 (Orissa)
General Secretary, IAPSM,
Orissa State Branch

Access free medical resources from Wiley-Blackwell now!

About Indmedica - Conditions of Usage - Advertise On Indmedica - Contact Us

Copyright © 2005 Indmedica