Indmedica Home | About Indmedica | Medical Jobs | Advertise On Indmedica
Search Indmedica Web
Indmedica - India's premier medical portal

Indian Journal of Community Medicine

Proceedings of the National Annual Conference of Indian Association of Preventive and Social Medicine Held at JNMC Belgaum (Karnataka) from 6th to 8th Feb. 2003

Author(s): Prof. Sunder Lal

Vol. 28, No. 2 (2003-04 - 2003-06)

The XXXth National Annual Conference of IAPSM was held at JNMC Belgaum, Karnataka. 350 delegates from different States and UTs participated in the conference.

The following resolutions were passed:

Condolence meeting was held and two minutes silence was observed to pay homage to the departed soul. (Prof. Harcharan Singh).

1. The minutes of meeting of XXIXth Annual Conference of IAPSM held at MGIMS, Sewagram (Wardha) were approved unanimously.

2. The audited Statement of Accounts for the year 01.04.2001 to 31.03.2002 (receipt and expenditures) were presented to the General Body by Dr. M.S. Punia (the Treasurer of IAPSM) and the audited reports were circulated to all the members. The General Body approved the audited accounts. Dr. Bir Singh observed some discrepancy; excess of Rs. 100,000 shown in the statement of accounts held at Delhi, the Secretary General assured rectification of accounts after scrutiny by C.A. Accounts and expenditure of IJCM were also presented and these were approved unanimously by General Body.

3. The proposed annual budget for the year 2003-2004 was presented to the Governing Council on 06.02.2003 and subsequently to the General Body on 07.02.2003. The General Body approved the proposed budget of Rs.244,500 (Rs. 150,000 for publication of four issues of IJCM, stationary Rs. 10000, audit fee Rs.5000, Website charges Rs.5000, secretarial assistance 2500, Epidemiological Grant of Rs.45000, State share of Rs.12000 and Rs.15000 for miscellaneous & contingency expenses, (TA-D A/Medals/A wards and postages etc).

4. The Secretary General was authorized to change the necessary composition of Editorial Board of IJCM.

5. The report of activities of IAPSM for the year 2002 were presented by the Secretary General of IAPSM. The project reports of two Epidemiological Research Projects have been received, from PGIMS, Rohtak and PGI Chandigarh, respectively, against the Epidemiological grant of Rs.45,000. MOU with National Informatic Centre (NIC) at CGO Complex New Delhi has been signed for online publication of whole text of IJCM on pilot basis free of charges. The IAPSM was represented by Secretary General at two meetings of National Task Force on Child Health convened by MOH & FW at New Delhi. Bilateral and collaborative research activities through National Consortium have been initiated with Nodal Agency (NIHFW - New Delhi). Director SOHS at IGNOU was requested to involve faculties of IAPSM for Distant Learning Training Activities such as PGDMCH through programme study centres established at various Medical Colleges. Essay contest for Young Scientists sponsored by USAID Environmental Health Project on Challenges & options for the delivery of Primary Health Care in disadvantaged urban areas was a good experience.

6. Many of the State/Zonal chapters of IAPSM were proactive and have been helpful in furthering the cause of IAPSM. These chapters have organized State Chapters Conferences and brought out Journals of the respective chapters apart from Souvenir and Newsletters. Notable among these chapters were Orissa, West Bengal, Gujarat, Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh, Madhya Pardesh, North Zone Chapter at Jammu, Maharashtra and Delhi. Distressingly the State Chapter of UP, Bihar, Tamil Nadu and Kerala were dormant and inactive. Life is to be enthused in these chapters through dynamic leadership and motivation. It was encouraging to note that Life Membership of IAPSM has increased to more than 1500.

7. IJCM is being published regularly and circulated to all Life Members and different libraries in the country. The IJCMメs full text is available online through Website, Quality of IJCM has been improved significantly and it is one of the most sought after journal now.

Issue of assigning responsibility of Chief Editor of IJCM and Secretary General of IAPSM to two different persons preferably at the same institution was deliberated in the General Body and it was approved by the General Body by show of hands, the General Body took note of the practical difficulties explained by Secretary General & further resolved that since this issue was of considerable significance, wider opinion be sought in the next G.B. meeting before it gets implemented. The members are requested to give their written opinion to the Secretary General of IAPSM by Dec., 2003 so that these could be put up before G.B. in 2004 Feb.

It was proposed to change the name of IAPSM to IACM, the issue was discussed but this was resolved that issue needs further deliberations. Proposal to publish book by IAPSM on the subject of Community Medicine was Welcome. Dr. Mamtani of USA indicated some financial assistance from some donors abroad.

Issue of securing funds from RCH II for orientation training of remaining faculty members was discussed. President Dr. B.S. Garg was authorized to negotiate with the authorities.

Issue of Appointment of Professors in Community Medicine in Tamil Nadu without M.D. in SPM (Community Medicine) was deliberated and it was resolved that the Secretary General and Local Chapter to settle the issue with MCI and follow it up vigorously.


  1. For the award of Dhanwantry Oration Prof, B.S. Garg of MGIMS Sewagram (Wardha) was selected.
  2. For the award of Harcharan Singh Oration Prof. Sunder Lal of PGIMS, Rohtak was selected.
  3. Sh. Pyare Lal Memorial Award for best paper presented by Female Young Scientist on Community Based Research was awarded to Dr. Ruchika Ranjan of LHMC, New Delhi.
  4. Sh. Kalu Ram Memorial Award for best paper presented on Community Based Research by male young scientist in the annual conference of IAPSM, was awarded to Dr. A Ray, Rural Medical College, Loni (Maharashtra).
  5. Dr. Mahajan Award for Best paper published in the year 2002 was awarded to Dr. J.S. Thakur of PGI Chandigarh.

Fellowships: The following members were selected for the awards of fellowship of IAPSM,

  1. Prof. S.C. Tiwari, CMC, Bhopal
  2. Prof. D.R. Gaur, PGIMS, Rohtak
  3. Prof. M. Narayanappa, Tumkur Medical College, Karnataka
  4. Prof. R. Mamtani, New York, USA selected for award of Causa Honoris (IAPSM fellowship).


The names of elected members of Governing Body are given on back page.

The offer of Prof. Rajesh Kumar of PGI Chandigarh to host the next conference of IAPSM at PGI Chandigarh was unanimously approved.

The annual conference organized at Belgaum was a grand success and important milestone. The members of IAPSM gave a standing ovation to Prof. A.S. Wantamutte and his team, whose sincere dedication and hard work culminated to this grand success.

The IAPSM expressed its sincere gratitudes to the Government of Karnataka, KLE Society and its Chairman Sh. Parbhakar Kere, Dean and faculty of JNMC Belgaum, who were kind enough to host this conference at JNMC, Belgaum

Prof. Sunder Lal
Secretary General IAPSM

Access free medical resources from Wiley-Blackwell now!

About Indmedica - Conditions of Usage - Advertise On Indmedica - Contact Us

Copyright © 2005 Indmedica