Indmedica Home | About Indmedica | Medical Jobs | Advertise On Indmedica
Search Indmedica Web
Indmedica - India's premier medical portal

Indian Journal of Community Medicine

Proceedings of the 19th Annual State Conference of Indian Association of Preventive and Social Medicine - West Bengal Chapter

Author(s): Editors

Vol. 28, No. 4 (2003-10 - 2003-12)

The conference was held at All India Institute of Hygiene & Public Health, Kolkata on 28 June 2003. Participants included Principals of different Medical Colleges of Kolkata, Director and Deputy Director of AIIH&PH, Kolkata, Health Administrators of Govt. of West Bengal, departmental heads of AIIH&PH, many other dignitaries from UNICEF and WHO besides members of the association. Their number was 120.

In the Scientific Programme sessions were held on 'Eradication of Poliomyelitis-lessons from experience' and 'Prevention of Rh-Isoimmunization'

GBM was held under the chairmanship of Prof. R. Biswas, the President of IAPSM, West Bengal chapter. Secretary of the Association, Dr. T. Chatterjee placed minutes of the last annual GBM held on 22.6.2002. It was discussed and confirmed.

Professor Manimoy Ganguly Memorial Award for Young Scientists:

It was decided that a three member committee consisting of Prof. S.K. Ray, Prof. R. Biswas arid Prof. R.N. Chaudhuri will be formed to consider the issue of changing of rules of the award.

Academic activities of the Association:

It was proposed that Heads of Community Medicine departments of all the Medical Colleges and Post-Graduate Institutes of this State may be requested to make it convenient to formulate approach papers on the issues identifying different facets/chapters/topics of under-graduate course curriculum which merit attention for uniformity in content of teaching. It was decided that approach papers would be asked from the departments.

Need of the abolition of the objective type questions in undergraduate examination in its present form in the subject of Community Medicine was well felt. It was decided that this issue may further be discussed in Executive Committee meeting.

Treasurer's Report:

Dr. (Mrs.) S. Mallik, Treasurer, submitted the statement of accounts for the year 2002-2003.

Executive Committee:

Members unanimously elected the Executive Committee for the year 2003-2004 which is as follows:

President: Dr. Biswajit Biswas

Vice-President: Prof. Akhil Bandhu Biswas, Prof. Ramendra Narayan Chowdhury

Secretary: Dr. Rabindra Nath Sinha

Jt. Secretary: Dr. Sarmila Mallik, Dr. Dipak Pal, Dr. Nirmal Mondal

Treasurer: Dr. Nitai Chandra Mondal


  • Prof. Madhuri Bose
  • Dr. Pankaj Mondal
  • Prof. Khanika Bala Das Dr. Kaninika Mitra
  • Dr. Samir Dasgupta Dr. Dilip Kr. Das
  • Dr. Raghunath Misra Dr. Amit Dan
  • Dr. Chitra ChatterjeeDr. Tapas Sarkar
  • Dr. Baijayanti Baur Dr. Sujishnu Mukherjee
  • Dr. Anima Halder Dr. Palash Das
  • Dr. Amitava Sarkar Dr. Narendra Nath Naskar
  • Prof. Santanu Tripathy Dr. Tutul Chatterjee
  • Dr. Siberjun Ghosh

Immediate Past President: Prof. Ranadeb Biswas

All Past Presidents are permanent invitees.

Vote of thanks were given by Dr. T. Chatterjee, Secretary, IAPSM (W.B. Chapter). The Association gratefully acknowledges UNICEF, N.P.S.P. (WHO/GOI), Johnson and Johnson for their technical and financial assistance.

Access free medical resources from Wiley-Blackwell now!

About Indmedica - Conditions of Usage - Advertise On Indmedica - Contact Us

Copyright © 2005 Indmedica