Indmedica Home | About Indmedica | Medical Jobs | Advertise On Indmedica
Search Indmedica Web
Indmedica - India's premier medical portal

Indian Journal of Community Medicine

Proceedings of 22nd Annual Conference of IAPSM, (Orissa State Branch)-2004

Author(s): Editors

Vol. 29, No. 4 (2004-10 - 2004-12)

The 22nd annual conference of IAPSM (Orissa State Branch) was organized by the Department of Community Medicine, SCB Medical College, Cuttack on 13th and 14th March 2004 and was held at Cuttack, the city of thousand years old. A total of 51 delegates and 17 associate delegates participated in theconference. Prof. G.C. Kar, Director of Medical Education & training, Orissa had inaugurated the conference. The other dignitaries present in the conference as Guests of Honour were Prof. B.C. Das, Director, State Institute of Health & Family Welfare, Dr. P.K. Senapati, Director of Health Services, Dr. B.K. Dash, Director of Family Welfare and Dr. D.K. Ray, Principal, S.C.B. Medical College. Prof. B. Mohapatra, Chairperson Organizing Committee conducted the inaugural meeting. The General Secretary, I.A.P.S.M. (OSB) Prof. Trilochan Sahu read out the activities of the association for the year 2003-04 and highlighted the involvement of departments of three Medical Colleges in different projects & programs like Assessment of safe injection practices, IPPI monitoring, IDD survey, MDSS training, RCH traning & so on. A keynote address on "Public Health-The expanding horizon" was delivered by Prof. B.C. Das, Director, SIHFW Orissa. Dr. K. Mishra, the Organizing secretary of the conference extended the vote of thanks during inaugural session.

Plenary session on "Disease Surveillance in Medical Colleges" started under the chairmanship of Dr. M.M. Devta, Joint Director, Public Health, Orissa and the participants were Dr. R. Samuel, Dr. Anita Anasuya, and Dr. E.Venkat Rao of WHO-UNDP, Orissa. After that a group discussion involving the heads of the departments of Pediatrics, Medicine, Community Medicine, Superintendents, Associate Professor In-charge of Casualty of the three Medical Colleges was held on operationalization of Orissa Multi-Disease Surveillance System by the Medical Colleges.

Plenary sessions on "National Anti-Malaria Program-Present Strategy", "RCH-Phase-II-Planning with a difference" and "Polio eradication-Past, Present & Future" were also conducted during the two days conference. Dr. S.K. Pati, M.O.R.H.F.W. (GOI), Dr. N. Kar of UNICEF and Dr. R. Behura of N.P.S.P. deliberated on the topics respectively.

The General Body Meeting was held in the evening and it was decided that the elected office bearers for the year 2003-04 are to continue for the year 2004-05. The before the General Body by Dr. Lomapada Nayak of V.S.S. Medical College and it was passed by the House. Prof. Trilochan Sahu, HOD of Community Medicine, Brahmapur invited to hold the 24th Annual Conference of IAPSM, Orissa State Branch at M.K.C.G. Medical College Brahmapur in January 2005.

Next day the Scientfic Session was held in which the Faculty as well as Post Graduates of three Medical Colleges presented 17 scientific papers. The session was chaired by Dr. Krishna Kar & Dr. N.C. Sahani.

The Conference came to an end after valedictory session at 7.00 pm

Dr. Trilochan Sahu
Professor & Head
Department of Community Medicine
MKCG Medical College,
Brahmapur-760004 (Orissa)
General Secretary, IAPSM, Orissa State Branch

Access free medical resources from Wiley-Blackwell now!

About Indmedica - Conditions of Usage - Advertise On Indmedica - Contact Us

Copyright © 2005 Indmedica