Indmedica Home | About Indmedica | Medical Jobs | Advertise On Indmedica
Search Indmedica Web
Indmedica - India's premier medical portal

Indian Journal of Community Medicine

Proceedings of the 20th Annual State Conference of Indian Association of Preventive and Social Medicine, West Bengal Chapter

Author(s): Editors

Vol. 29, No. 3 (2004-07 - 2004-09)

The conference was held at North Bengal Medical College, Sushruta Nagar, Dist. Darjeeling on 26th June, 2004. Participants included the faculty members of Community Medicine and other allied departments from all Medical Institutions of West Bengal, post-graduate trainees, health administrators, distinguished academicians and public health personnel.

Inaugural speech was delivered by Hon'ble Minister in - Charge, Department of Urban Development & Municipal Affairs, Govt. of West Bengal, Sri A.N. Bhattacharya. Prof. (Mrs.) S. Bhattacharya, Principal, North Bengal Medical College released the Souvenir.

This year Professor Manimoy Ganguly Memorial Award for young scientists was received by Dr. Pranita Taraphdar, Post Graduate Trainee (M.D.) of All India Institute of Hygiene & Public Health, Kolkata for the paper entitled "Weight control practices among adolescent school going girls of an urban area of Kolkata".

Scientific sessions were held on Adolescent Health, RCH - II and HIV & AIDS - challenges ahead. After completion of the scientific sessions General Body Meeting was held. Members unanimously elected Executive Committee for the year 2004-2005, which is as follows :

President: Prof. Biswajit Biswas

Vice Presidents: Prof. Akhil Bandhu Biswas

Prof. Ramendra Narayan Chaudhuri

Dr. Rudra Nath Bhattacharya

Secretary: Dr. Nirmal Kumar Mandal

Joint Secretaries: Dr. Sarmilla Mallick

Dr. Gautam Narayan Sarkar

Dr. Baijayanti Baur

Treasurer: Dr. Amitava Sarkar


Prof. Khanika Bala Das Prof. Shibarjun Ghosh

Prof. Santanu Tripathy Prof. Samir Dasgupta

Prof. Uchchal Kumar Bhadra Dr. Raghunath Misra

Dr. Chitra Chatterjee Dr. Tutul Chatterjee

Dr. Dilip Kumar Das Dr. Kaninika Mitra

Dr. Sujishnu Mukherjee Dr. Tapash Sarkar

Dr. Narendra Nath Naskar Dr. Pankaj Mondal

Dr. Palash Das Dr. Dipak Pal

Dr. Rabindra Nath Sinha Dr. Gautam Dhar

Dr. Nitai Chandra Mondal Dr. Prasanta Ray Karmakar

Dr. Manidipa Roy Dr. D.N. Goswami

Immediate Past President: Prof. Ranadeb Biswas

All past Presidents are permanent invitees.

General Body Meeting was followed by Cultural Programme and dinner at Hotel Mainak, Siliguri. The organizers arranged a short sight seeing trip in the neighbouring hilly and doors area, which was enjoyed by the delegates.

Access free medical resources from Wiley-Blackwell now!

About Indmedica - Conditions of Usage - Advertise On Indmedica - Contact Us

Copyright © 2005 Indmedica